Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Mexican Jay

Widespread in Mexico, the aptly named Mexican Jay enters the United States in two limited areas: southeastern Arizona and adjacent New Mexico, and also slightly in the Big Bend area of Texas.

Since we're on this  side of the border (barely), I've come to appreciate what our neighbors to the south share openly with us, whether it's their birds (as if a bird sees a border!) or their artistry (my water dishes are a tiny sample).   That's why I venture outside of crusty, old,  lily white Green Valley. I want to be in the center of it and not just a voyeur at the farmer's market or a peruser of their US trained and less expensive dentists...

So the two biggest things I do is go to Madera Canyon for the culture of the birds and the Town of Sahuarita, which is almost all Hispanic.  I hang out in the Starbuck's and shop and explore and talk to people, especially the kids.  I go down to the Lake. It's wonderful to be semi-immersed in an entirely different culture - if you just let yourself go and enjoy it.

Thanks for coming, Mr.Jay!  You made me feel good - and a lot younger today!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.