MyLifeMirror

By MyLifeMirror

A Gift

"The fresh aroma after a summer downpour is one of life's pleasing scents. The earthy fragrance was named petrichor by Australian researchers in 1964, from the Greek words "petra," meaning "stone," and "ichor," which refers to the fluid that flows like blood in the veins of the gods. They described it as a combination of plant oils and the chemical compound geosmin which are released from the soil when it rains."

It was a lovely rain today. It lasted less than an hour but it was cool and left the scent of rain after it stopped.
I will admit that if I was in my old office I likely would have missed it.
I heard the drops hitting the window, grabbed my camera and ran to the patio- yes, most people in AZ run to look at rain.
So working from home gave me the gift of rain today.
And the gift of petrichor.
Who knew? :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.