ANZAC day in Bathurst

I don't usually go to big public events however today I felt I needed to go and join in the others marking 100 years since the first ANZAC day in 1915. While standing there I was wondering who to dedicate my blip to today and this list grew. First my two grandfathers who thankfully survived WW1 in France and an unknown great uncle who didn't make it home. To my mother who survived 3 years in a tent while she was in the AWAS ( Aust Women's Army Service). My husband's grandfather who died while on duty in the Home Guard in England, my son in law's Grandfather who died in Italy ( we visited his grave in Arezzo). Also to my Godfather who found his service in Papua New Guinea a very frightening ordeal. Then I started thinking of the mothers and fathers of the young people going off to war, and the people we were fighting. It seemed everyone has been touched on some way. We sang the NZ and Australian National Anthem's which was touching as this is day honours people from both countries.
We have a very imposing Memorial in our town, partly instigated by my grandfathers Uncle Bob in the 1930s.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.