Return to the North

By Viking

Every intention

I had every intention of blipping some beach art on the lake front in Wanaka today but then things changed as the day changed.

It rained persistently all night and was still pretty dismal this morning. I for one WAS NOT going down to the tree again! (Not least because I had left all my outdoor coats down in Tui, so I would have got soaked.) TeeJay and I had arranged to meet up at Patagonia (no not the one in Chile but the chocolate shop in Wanaka) She had a delicious looking cheesecake and I had a croissant with liquid chocolate poured over it. After a very long catch up we headed to Cromwell for lunch (and more catching up) 
Sadly this was my last day in Wanaka - I had in error only booked two nights accommodation instead of three and while I could have extended my stay I am sure I decided instead that some greater being was telling me I really did need to go home and do some of my school work. 
So from Cromwell I would drive home while TeeJay would go back to the blip shenanigans in Wanaka.
By the time we got to Cromwell we found a bit of sunshine and some cracking lake shots were nabbed. (oh and we met Rainie and Doug there too). I then had to decide which way to go home - through Queenstown or through Roxburgh and Gore. In the end I decided on Queenstown purely because I love the scenery.
This meant going through the Kawerau Gorge. Now fantastic scenery as it is through the Gorge its is an absolute bitch to get a decent photo of because of the light and shade - and I have yet to land there at the right time of day.... anyway today I stopped at the Gold Mining place because I noticed a bridge over the Gorge. This shot is looking out from the bridge. The original shot was so colourless I took some more in B&W - and I really like it. So it is my blip for today! Others of Cromwell etc can be seen here.
Can I also finish this epistle by saying.... it has been a REAL pleasure meeting so many clippers over the last couple of days. I have met some before and some I may never meet again (although i surely hope I will) and every last one of them has been interesting, delightful company and passionate about photography. I feel truly blessed to have met you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.