Return to the North

By Viking

The spirit of ANZAC

It was really hard to decide what to blip today.I had to ask myself what was today all about? 
1. It was about ANZAC Day - where Kiwi's and Aussies stand together to think about those who either didn't come home or came home wounded from Gallipoli (WW1 in general and all other conflicts) Being the 100th anniversary it was always going to be a special day and so it turned out.

If you look at my blip for this day let year you will know what shite weather it was but today was as good as it could get. 16 degrees, fine and very windy (which I like and added atmosphere) The dawn was spectacular and the Service very very moving. the turn out at Lake Hawea was MASSIVE this year. (Swollen in numbers by a bunch of ANZAC blippers). I almost missed this fly past but managed to strategically place myself in the nick of time to get the bi-planes flying over the flag.

2. The other reason for today being special is that we had a massive blip meet, with blippers from all over NZ, Aus and even a couple from the UK. One of the Wanaka Blippers opened her amazing home and garden to around 30 of us and we sat and talked and talked and talked for over 3 hours. It was amazing to meet such lovely, genuine and like minded people from all kinds of areas , ages and backgrounds. It was great to meet you all and it made me realise what a truly wonderful community Blip is and I really do hope we don't lose that about it.
I have included some photos on Flickr here of some more scenery and blippers but in the end I went for this shot because this is ANZAC.
For me the Spirit really was here today - in the wind as it rustled louder through the trees as the names of the dead were called, in the dawn as we rise to a new day, alive, safe and well in a land free to us all and in the spirit of true friendship that surrounded me today as we all sat and chatted

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.