A Portrait of Terry

Dear Diary,

When I was teaching art I would have my students do a self portrait but it could not include a facial likeness.  I told them to create a drawing the depicted essential elements of their personality through objects.  When I stayed with my dear friend Terry this past week I rose early, as I always do.  She and her husband are not such early risers.  I photographed various things around their house to pass the time.

This morning I decided to put some of those photographs together into a collage that says "Terry" for me.  I used objects that represented things she loves, like tea service and her collection of Russian nesting dolls.  I also included a souvenir from Rouen, France where we traveled together in 2012.   We taught together for 20 years; she was the librarian and I was the art teacher.  This collage is Terry's portrait and a tribute to a good friend.


Let us be grateful to people who make us happy, they are the charming gardeners who make our souls blossom. - Marcel Proust

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.