The First Spring Blooms

Dear Diary,

My Scilla Siberia "Spring Beauty" is the first thing that blooms in my yard.  It was a special joy to see their sweet little blue heads this morning.  The weather continues very cool and windy but these hearty little souls don't mind.  I am making progress on the yard work, even swept and set up the patio yesterday.  The feeders are put away until fall and the seed table scrubbed.  My little friends do make a mess during the winter months but no matter.

On Monday a carpenter comes to begin fixing some of the ice and snow damage from this winter.  Spring in Maine means lots of work but every climate has its "issues".  Soon all the daffodils I planted will be blooming and that makes all the work worth it.

Spring makes its own statement, so loud and clear that the gardener seems to be only one of the instruments, not the composer.

~Geoffrey B. Charlesworth

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.