hello : )

By 1DayataTime

Canada geese bliss

Several times recently I have seen Canada geese dunking themselves in water seemingly thinking that it's part of their grooming and cleaning rituals. But today something quite different happened!

These two geese swam together from the other side of the pond and came somewhat near to the land where I was standing. At first it looked like they were looking for food, but then they started dunking themselves in water and began moving closer to one another. Well, once they were side-by-side dunking themselves (1st of the extra photos), I thought this is absolutely great, as I can get photos of both of them dunking in the water with the water dripping off of them : ) I clearly learned today that their dunking behavior is actually a mating ritual.

The main photo here is how they behaved afterwards and they seemed to be showing an incredible amount of affection towards one another : ) I'm hoping that goslings arrive sometime soon!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.