Did it!

I certainly wasn't among the elite group of starters, but I completed the 10K and had a great time!  There were 10,527 registered participants, all ages, shapes and sizes.  I actually enjoyed walking by myself, setting my own pace and not worrying about slowing anyone down.  I didn't see anyone I knew until the end of the walk, when I heard my name being called by Sylvia, a former colleague from VIU.
Not sure what my "official time" is, but I think it was around 90 minutes, and that's what I was aiming for.  The results will be published on Tuesday.   I stopped briefly a few times to take photos and will post some on flickr when I get to them, although they aren't great because I didn't want to spend much time fiddling with settings.  
The weather was perfect, overcast and cool, no rain.  The very first group of musicians along the route were pipers and drummers and that brought a huge smile to my face.  I think I smiled the whole way!  Lots of supportive people clapping and cheering us on, lots of volunteers who made this a great event.  I even jogged for the last half a kilometer or so! 
Pretty sure I'm going to do this again next year.  Let me know if you want to join me!  :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.