Glimpses of Life in Belize

Today we drove through Belize, formerly British Honduras, stopping at an interesting Howling Monkey sanctuary, a river with terrapins, and a very good hotel for lunch and the now obligatory Marguerita cocktail!

Belize gained its independence from UK in 1981 but remains very English in language, coinage shapes with the Queen's head on all notes and coins. It has a far more Caribbean feel than either Mexico or Guatamala. I am sorry we were not able to stay longer

Our last full day tomorrow with one more Mayan sites and an afternoon on the beach. After an overnight flight on Tues we will be home. Both Jack and I will be glad to be home and I will no doubt swop some photos around once I have downloaded ones taken on my camera.

Thank you for your comments. It has been fun to have you with me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.