Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

Chicago

Today we flew to Chicago.  After finding our hotel in the River North area, we put on lots more layers for the cold temps, and had a nice walk around.  We both grew up in a suburb of Chicago and then lived in the downtown "old town" area after college and after our wedding.  Then in the housing for interns near pres st Luke's hospital.  We love Chicago!   Got lots of classic skyscraper building shots with gorgeous clear blue sky , but this is what I will remember from this day.   An early dinner at the nearby classic kind of Art Deco Chicago "Shaw's Crab House" where we decided we deserved a fabulous, long and leisurely dinner , got a wonderful big corner booth, and treated ourselves to oysters ( from WA) crab cakes, sauv blanc wine, Caesar salad with great white anchovies, tuna for H and halibut for me, and then espresso, dessert ( some raspberries from WA! among other delights) and even a spot of grappa for H. ( not as good as the one in Italy and definitely not a "grappa glass". ).    Enjoyed every minute!
Tomorrow we'll spend time in the art institute ( I took Saturday classes there when I lived here) while steeling ourselves for our day with the family memorial on tues.   more about that later.....
I tried to add an extra Chicago photo but couldn't get it to work on the iPad.  At least I have wifi!  iPhone shots and I think I've now managed to actually turn off comments .

I figured out I could add the extra photo on the blip website but not on the blip app on the iPad.. I also turned comments back on as I didn't realize I couldn't reply to an old comment that I wanted to :-). But it will be sparse.....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.