The Travellist's journal

By TheTravellist

Blood & Wine

I really don't like early mornings, especially when an alarm is involved. So starting my birthday with an alarm at 8.30am (yes, that's very early for me) for a blood test wasn't ideal. I hadn't had night sweats, so I was feeling a lot better than the previous day but I thought I should have the test for malaria just to be safe. I was at the hospital for almost two hours before I was finally told that the test was negative but that he thinks I have either an infection or flu and to come back if I'm still ill in a few days.

Michelle had come to meet me while I was waiting for the results, so we went to get a full English breakfast to celebrate. It was delicious but I needed a rest afterwards as I was still clearly fighting something.

In the evening we went to my favourite wine spot and had a bottle as a present from my lovely parents. While sitting with the wine, a couple of musicians started to perform and I instantly recognised both of them from my very first time in Pai back in October / November. I used a video of the singer as part of my '170 Days' video, which happened to be her very first performance. I showed her the video and she was amazed and wanted me to send it to her.

Later we went to Edible Jazz and watched some live music but another bad wave of headaches came and I had to leave around 11pm. It was frustrating not to go out properly on my birthday but it had still been a nice day and I can celebrate another time!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.