Out of the weather

The forecasters gave us bad weather this morning. Strong winds off the Tasman Sea, driving rain almost horizontally. Not my sort of running weather any more. By midday, the wind had dropped a bit, and the rain was much lighter. So I changed and went out with the camera.

I was quickly cold from the wind, until I'd gone for long enough to generate a bit of body heat. By then I'd already stopped by some large rocks under some protected pohutukawa trees (they had signs on them from the city council; can't think who else but the council would want to cut them down as they are on public land).

Which is where I saw a number of sparrows, including this very quiet little cock sparrow. He watched me get the camera out of its protective bag, turn it on, focus and frame the shot, and then take three at slightly different head angles. I liked this the best.

By three photos, the chill was hitting, and I went on. Not far. More out of concern for the camera getting wet, than me. I was already wet, and it stopped being quite so cold. One of my shortest runs.

Late this afternoon I took S to the airport to catch a flight to Auckland. She has her poetry group meeting tomorrow, so is heading back a few days before I finish here. Went to the airport with good weather, but her plane was delayed by a late arrival from Auckland, and then seemingly interminable checks of the function of the left engine. Eventually they left, almost an hour late. 

S has subsequently told me that the delay was apparently to wait for a drop in the wind, and they eventually decided "Bugger it. We'll just go." She described the take off as a bit scary, and thereafter a good flight. Safe and sound back in Auckland to my great relief.

Leftovers for me tonight. Very tasty, and deliberately left for me to have. Three more days of work, and then the drive north on Friday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.