Mr John

By MrJohn

Hospital.....

.....visit.

After work this evening I went with My friends Mr and Mrs P to visit Mr M who had his operation yesterday. Mr M is currently in the high dependancy unit and has his own room. Despite going through major surgery yesterday and being covered in wires and tubes going in and out of every imaginable place, he is in good spirits and sat up and chatting away as if nothing has happened (epidurals are a wondeful thing), the main thing irritating Mr M is how itchy the tape holding all the wires and tubes in place is.

We stayed for a good couple of hours after the official visiting times but the Drs and nurses popping in to the room every so often to check on Mr M's monitors didn't seem worried about us being there so long chatting away. The nurses all seemed really lovely and are a good laugh. Whilst we were there Mr M was told all his readings and blood tests were looking good and if he continues to recover as he is, he could be going home as soon as Sunday ( I was a bit shocked it could be so soon, but I assume he will be fairly house bound for a while and on a lot of strong painkillers ).

We eventually left at about 10pm and as I had gone to the hospital straight from work and spent a lot longer there than I was expecting, hadn't eaten. Luckily there was a KFC on the way home :-) ( keeping up the training diet ).

Talking of training, in other news...
The race yesterday evening was a tough one. My usual running partner, Alison has been marathon running so wasn't up to running at her usual pace. After a mile or so of sticking with her, she told me to run at my own pace and go ahead as the club could do with the points. I found the run really tough and I didn't particually enjoy running the race as an individual. I felt as though I had run a bad race, but when I checked the results was placed a lot higher and ran a lot faster than I thought I had ( I'd forgotten to set my stopwatch at the start line , Doh! ).

After a long day at work and then a long hospital visit, I eventualy got back home tonight at about 11:00pm. Waiting for me on the doormat was a lovely card from a 'strange girly', with a poem that made me smile and a fortune telling fish that says I'm dead. I think that result was most likely due to either having cold hands from the walk home, or all the alcahol gel on my hands from the hospital has killed the fish.
Despite the poor photo and as it's the only thing I've done besides work, today's blip is the.....


..... Hospital visit.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.