Late afternoon snack

I woke up early, seven o'clock. I know that exact time because the church bells always start to ring (or toll perhaps).
Seeing that the sky looked very friendly, I decided to stand up and after showering, to clean the floor of the living room. Piet Hein does the hoovering, because he is good at it and probably likes to do it.
Cleaning means to me, moving the chairs away and other obstacles, put the curtains in a knot etc. Not doing half work. That's probably why I do it only when I really am in the mood for it.
Job done and the lazy day could begin. Sitting on the terrace (first time this year), reading with Piet Hein in the 'Atemschulung' book.
We had finished the chapter of the nose and now the skull was our subject. Amazing new facts, we never heard of.
Walking a bit around in the garden, I saw some tiny friends I had met last year and the year before. A mouse peeped between the stones.
But the picture I show here I took later in the afternoon, a wasp delirious of the purple flowers of the Azalea.
The news on the earthquakes in Nepal keeps haunting us, The number of victims growing each day and the poor that are wounded and the ones left without a roof, above their heads or a safe place to stay.

My haiku:

Immense purple plate
The shrub full of them all filled
With deliciousness

And the proverb:

He/she cannot say bo to a battledore.

1621  bP. Montagu Diatribe 118.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.