All These Things...

By Joestockdale

Glenridding Shore

Waking up early, for once on a Saturday morning after a night at the Keswick beer festival, splendid. I decided i'd detour on the way home via Ullswater and go for a walk around the lake side, perfect way to cure a minor hangover. The tourism in the area is certainly picking up for the summer, I found it difficult to frame a photo without walkers/cyclists getting in the way.

For this shot I used my beloved Tokina 11-16mm, if anyone is looking for a nice wide angle lens to go on a Nikon DX system it's the lens to have! Stopping the sky from burning out too much was quite problematic, so I just brought the higher tonal values down using the levels layer adjustment. One thing I don't usually do when editing is use the Shadow and Highlights tool, but for this I used it to regain some of the detail in the grass and tree trunk. For best results, duplicate the background layer and fade to about 30% of opacity and then go to Shadow and Highlights and make sure the shadow radius is suitable to stop it from looking like a HDR or depth free cartoon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.