Wideangle Wed "Signs & Symbols": Stray Apostrophe

Quite a tricky challenge this week for Wideangle Wednesday! I hope this will suffice :)

This sign is at the gate of the Newcastle United players' training ground. Besides being a physical sign (obviously!), which includes a symbol (the Newcastle United crest), to me it also symbolises these facts:

1) The players are not so fond of their fans that they are prepared to stop for a few moments for the fans' benefit, except in a few weeks of the year. Since the fans are in effect responsible for the players' large salaries this seems rather mean.

2) Grammar is not taught as well as it used to be, as stray apostrophes seem to be more and more common!

(Of course, the fact that I'm writing this is also a sign - that I'm turning into a Grumpy Old Man!!)


(Confession: I don't have a really wide-angle lens so I took this on my phone then tweaked it a little in Photoshop.)

Many thanks to chantler63 for taking over the hosting of widwed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.