Log Freuchie

By Freuchie

The Clachan

This morning I moved back to Drymen to look after Bingo for a week. Although there is red-white-and-blue bunting up around the square and along the road, I'm told that's for the Gala Day next weekend. Most of the surrounding villages seem to be celebrating the Jubilee some way or other this weekend, but Drymen isn't.

I met my friend Alison for lunch in The Clachan, the best of the village's hostelries (other hostelries are available), apparently the oldest registered licensed pub in Scotland. Most of our family occasions - birthdays, graduations, farewells, welcome-backs - take place there, and if ever I'm asked by visitors or tourists the best place to eat, I direct them to The Clachan.

Come to think of it, I should be on commission...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.