peterdawson

By peterdawson28

Where England began?

Picking up on the church/blue sky/black cloud theme from Monday here's All Saint Church in the middle of Kingston.

Now I knew that Kingston was where the coronations of the early Saxon kings were held but I hadn't realised they took place here, or more accurately in the church that stood on this site.

The origins of the current building date back to 1120 but it has been subject to numerous renovations over the years. I have to say that the mixture of flint facing and brickwork is rather attractive but the extensive use of very dull cement rendering is pretty dismal. Still now I know how historic it is I shall make point of trying to capture some more interesting and flattering images of it.

To find out more you could always start by reading here

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.