Significant stones

Blip Number 1095
 
So it would seem that I have managed for three years to post an entry into my journal - every day, on the day. The images are not always the most technically brilliant, the writing is often rambling, but each one records a little of my life - something of that particular day, whether it reflects an event, a discovery, a thought, an idea or just something for itself. It has become a part of what I do, what I am, and then, finding that what I record sometimes strikes a chord in someone else's life, is a joy. I value highly all the people who have become friends here, those with whom I correspond regularly, those with whom I only have occasional contact, but who I know are there, and those who alight on my journal quite by chance. This is what makes Blipfoto special. Thank you, all of you, for being there.   
 
So it had to be stones - significant stones.
 
If I had been at home I could have gone to one of my favourite haunts, but we have been in Newcastle all day. It was a lovely afternoon as we travelled back and so the obvious choice was to stop off on the way home and take in a view of some of the most significant stones of all - Hadrian's Wall at Steel Rigg. A natural sill of volcanic rock, the Roman Wall, including a Milecastle in the foreground, walls built by farmers over the centuries, and paths and steps built for walkers. Stone in many guises. (If you look carefully you may glimpse someone who, seeing a hill, has to climb it!)
 
(Coincidently we were at a talk this morning about the people who have contributed to the archaeology of the Wall over the centuries - fascinating. Imagine what it was like to come across bits like this and realise, possibly for the first time, just what it was! And then you might try to stop people taking stones away for their own buildings!)
 
And final details of Monday's Blipmeet will appear tomorrow! 

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.