a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Try walking in my shoes

Soapbox Thursday

"I would tell you about the things
They put me through
The pain I've been subjected to
But the Lord himself would blush
The countless feasts laid at my feet
Forbidden fruits for me to eat
But I think your pulse would start to rush
 
Now I'm not looking for absolution
Forgiveness for the things I do
But before you come to any conclusions
Try walking in my shoes
You'll stumble in my footsteps
Keep the same appointments I kept
If you try walking in my shoes"


Depeche Mode - Walking in my shoes

You get a stone in your shoe, and it feels as though its enormous, yet when you take your shoe off you realise the problem is just not as bad as you thought.  Perspective helps.

But the wrong perspective makes it so easy to be critical of others; so easy to jump to conclusions.

As the saying goes, you cannot really understand another person's view of the world until you have tried to walk a mile in their shoes.  

So, this week's ST challenge is a plea for perspective, understanding and compassion.

... and an opportunity for a shoe blip and some Depeche Mode. :-)


With thanks to Youoregon1 who came up with the idea for Soapbox Thursday, you can see other entries this week here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.