BVFL33

By BVFL33

The Great "Manchester Tart" Quest

Since coming back I've been trying to find Manchester Tart , something so delicious and a true Northern pudding. Last week at Belle Vue I had some but it was drowned in cream. My queries to date have revealed many famous chainstore bakeries no longer produce it even though a considerable amount of people would like  to purchase. (I'm not alone in my poor baking skills  and love of Northern food .)
The Secret Garden have said  they will bake and text me when ready..The Wharf is considering .I've the name of a chef at a famous tearooms who will make one if I 'mention' a name .Connections re Manchester tart has to be a joke.Another bakery has been discovered in Whitefield.That's for next weeks trial .
Today upon calling in a small cafe for a coffee I struck gold ! Here you see an individual tart . It was rather good but lacked the sliced banana .Wonderful thick custard though, jam coconut topping and very good pastry ..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.