What a gent

A long day today, but a good one. I was in first thing to interview students for next year. We look like we have a great cohort of students for next year but may have to do one last tranche of interviews before we can make a final decision.

We finished up just before lunchtime then I headed up to the parliament where there was a national rally and lobby on parliament. There were a number of really good speakers protesting the fairly savage cuts to funding which the government chose to enforce even while they knowingly opted for a £140 million underspend on education last year. Maybe it's my personal politics, but the best of the bunch was the fantastic Mr Patrick Harvie leader of the Scottish Green party, who not only spoke very well in support of FE but happily posed for a blip afterwards. He even offered to pose with a placard.

After that it was back to work to see my 2nd year students for a couple of hours. Once that was done I got a lift into town from Anna and grabbed a quick drink with her before heading to the big launch for the college show season up at La Belle Angele.

From there Roz picked me up and we headed to Ruth and Andy's for a bit as it was Andy's birthday. I eventually got home at half ten, a bit knackered but it was a good day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.