felt dangling balls

Nicky is by no means a fan of the cold (or even anything approaching it) but it was with some glee today that she stepped outside in to the outside she had deemed cold enough for her to be able to wear the warm and fluffy knitted-looking coat/jacket thing with the dangly felt bobble-things which she found in an outdoor shop in Stirling thirty-four months ago which is powerful enough to make her too warm when worn at inappropriately mild times of the year. Though it also has an hood she ended up wearing an hat during the rainier moments on the way to the shops as the hood makes it look like she doesn't have any hair. Unfortunately one of the bobbles disappeared at some point shortly after purchase and has not yet been able to be replaced.

Whilst quietly gaping at the strange selection (38" waist 27" leg, anyone?) of trousers (unfortunately my employment-trousers are on their last legs so I have to begrudgingly begin the process of replacing them) available in a shop a bit later I was unable to avoid hearing a pair of oafish oik-students yah-ing their way around nearby bits of the same shop in a particularly irritating way. It's almost become a reflex to shush people shouting in public places and I allowed myself to "sssSSHHHHHH" lingeringly as I finally found a pair of 34/33 in the second-choice colour and the noise-people passed on the other side of the rack. It was evidently the first time the principal shouter had been asked to reduce his volume as he seemed to be quite astonished. At least it gave him something to spend a minute discussing with his colleague ("Did someone really just shush me? Did they? Did they just shush me? Did I just get shushed?" to which I felt it necessary to (quietly) explain: "Yes.) before they thankfully drifted over to the ill-fitting fashionable section rather than the ill-fitting but sadly necessary area. I did eventually buy a pair but I expect they'll get taken back after a couple of days after a few more checks as they seem to have been designed by someone who thinks that adding a little bit of elastane does away with the need to provide legs which have enough space in them in the first place and what might conceivably be useful for sitting still in an office typing might not be quite comfortable enough to walk between offices with during daylight.

Later still I made my second-ever omelette for tea. Prior to the flight to NZ in May I'd only ever eaten one before (on New Year's Eve 1995) but became quite fond of them (after a further three) whilst on holiday and resolved to learn how to make them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.