Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

Labour Day

It's Labour Day and workers of the world are united in taking the day off.

It's May Day and nobody is rushing off to anybody's aid.

I'm celebrating with lots of red and taking the afternoon off - hence the haste.

Spouseman began strimming some of our over-tall wildflowers yesterday just along paths and around fruit trees and encountered a cluster of this central poppy. We've never noticed it before. All the others are rather plain four-petalled affairs with or without a black spot. This central one is a 'double' with inner and outer petals and a very black centre. It also seems to be much shinier than the others. I think she's dressed up to go out for the evening, possibly with her little green friend.

Don't ask me about the white rectangle. This happens for some reason I cannot for the life of me work out when I insert more than one photo into AutoCAD. I haven't yet worked out how to do the same job in Paint and I simply don't have the time to faff about. Poppies and insects bring me far more joy than processing photos.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.