May chill

Today the garden is full of flowers and scent - apple blossom, clematis, wisteria, akebia, alexanders, wallflowers, tulips, daffodils (some late varieties still going strong), rosemary, muscari and aubrieta - as it should be on May Day, but there are scarcely any insects to be found. Although we've had sunny intervals the wind chill has kept temperatures down, and only a few hardy bumblebees were buzzing around the apple blossom.

I spent some time wandering around looking for a subject, and had nearly given up when I found this tiny male orange-tip (you can just detect the orange through the wings) clinging to the top of some cow parsley. It was too cold to move, so I managed to get some decent macro shots. I wonder if it was one of our home-grown ones, that I photographed on the hedge garlic last summer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.