Orange-tip caterpillar

After two days of heavy rain, everywhere is soaked and the river's rising fast. I ventured out into the garden to see how the plants had coped, and was delighted to see that the orange-tip butterflies had indeed laid eggs on the large plant of hedge garlic growing on the patio. This is one of the caterpillars, which feed exclusively on the seed pods, which it seems to be sharing with an aphid.

Pete and I have been busy preparing for Chris and Alex's return (mostly by removing all the junk which we'd stored in their rooms). I escaped for a while, taking Rosie to Ferry Meadows, where I found a good range of annual clovers, including three which are rare in Huntingdonshire and one which doesn't seem to have been formally recorded at all, even though I first notified the botanical recorder of its presence over twenty years ago.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.