Peaceful.....

This morning I attended the funeral of the baby boy who was found on a cycle path here in Edinburgh almost two years ago.  No one ever came forward for his body, or made themselves known.  According to the Police, he could have been up to six weeks old, and seemed to have been well fed and cared for.  

So, this morning, I found myself, along with a couple of hundred other people, in Seafield Cemetery, here in Leith, fighting back the tears at a simple service for an unknown baby boy.  

I was glad that he was surrounded by people as he was laid to rest.  

I've been thinking about him all day.  So sad.  

Thankfully I was able to spend part of the afternoon at Lauriston Castle, my favourite place, especially this time of year.  While my charges played in their den, I enjoyed the peace of the Japanese Garden and it's blossom.  It was a good place to be.

Tonight it's the start of a long weekend, so that means it's gin o'clock and a film (still be be decided). 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.