The Way I See Things

By JDO

Clematis montana

This Clematis montana 'Elizabeth' sprawls across the corner where the wall of our front garden meets the fence dividing us from next door. It's been covered with buds for a couple of weeks, and today the first ones opened.

Taken with the new 85mm lens, which is performing beautifully. My only slight issue with it has been getting used to a minimum focusing distance of about 0.8m - reasonable enough, because it's essentially a portrait lens - but I'm happy to report that it plays very nicely with the extension tubes. I've put two extra shots in - the first taken with the 13mm tube, and the second with the 22mm. All three were taken at f/2.8, which of course gives a very shallow dof in the macro shots - but I rather like that effect.

I hope you all have a happy blipping weekend!

EDIT: I had forgotten when I posted this that I'd signed up to be a part of Walking Wombat's May Macro Mayhem challenge - designed to encourage those with macro lenses, filters or extension tubes to showcase their close-up photos. Even though only my extras today were actually shot with the extension tubes, I'm adding the tag #maymacromayhem to this blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.