A New Glass Dish

Trying it out on the Ceratostigma plumbaginoidesMore in this series

I have spent most of the day planting and repotting bulbs and rhizomes. About twelve years ago I had a collection of miniature bulbs, but, for the first and last time, I got a gardener in to help me clean up the garden. I asked him not to do the area where my bulbs were. He thought he might as well do it since he was that side of the house and gave it a thorough chopping with his torpedo hoe. Very little survived, all bulblets.  I put them in pots and after a few year they began to flower. That’s when I found there were only three varieties left.

This autumn I decided to have another go. I bought some in Christchurch and sent to Southland for others that require a higher altitude that the city. All are in pots and planters. Somehow the labels were lost from the old ones and I forgot to mark many of the new ones so I’ll just have to wait and see.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.