Camping by the Thames

Spare a thought for Stuart and Delia tonight as you snuggle up in your nice warm beds. They'll be snoozing in their fold-up chairs under a tarpaulin here a few yards downriver from Cleopatra's Needle on the Embankment. They're staking their claim for a fine view of the Diamond Jubilee Pageant, rain or shine.

I meet up with Stu a few times every year for England rugby union internationals. He's on the back seat of the bus in the right hand corner here singing Jurusalem.

Gill joined me in a trip up to London this afternoon and we sought out Stuart and Delia before heading down to Tower Bridge and St Katherine's dock to see some of the boats gathering, although virtually all those involved in the pageant have moved up river towards Hammersmith and Barnes.

If you're watching tomorrow, I'm going to be on the Yorkshire coble, Gratitude (white with red and black stripes). If it's not too wet I'll wear my Panama hat. I'll give Stuart and Delia a wave.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.