Raven Crag, Walthwaite (view from)

The forecast was for the morning to be the best of the day - still unsure of the knee after the recent twinges we selected Raven W as it has a very short, if extremely steep, walk in and its quite quickly accessible - even after a coffee stop we were not only the first people at the crag - we were onto our second climb of the day before the only other party we saw* joined us. Today's blip is looking West from the top of the crag - the distant skyline is Crinkle Crags and Bowfell.
What I had forgotten about RW was just how scarce any protection is - so a reduction of grade and the mythical 101% concentration were called for. By route two J. had joined us - but she'd missed the best of the day as it was already starting to rain (the black clouds arriving from the North West in this shot soon covered the sky). However she'd made the effort - so we decided to risk one more - a cheeky little two pitch number - which started in a nicely sheltered corner - but finished exposed to the wind & rain - out at the sharp end I was very glad it wasn't any longer - and equally thankful J. is a fast second rope.

*to give fellow Blippers a taste for these days out I've added a second shot of the other party on the route we'd just done and a third of yours truly & J. taken by them.
I'm not sure I'm keen on this second shot malarkey however - it seems to detract from the wonderful point of choosing just one pic to sum up the day - so I think my interaction with it will be rare. I'd far rather they decided to bring Blipbooks back - that's something I'd really like on my shelves in years to come.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.