The things we choose to do...

Up very early today - sadly not to walk pooch - but to catch up on yesterdays lost work - fortunately repetition makes for perfect practice - so I was much faster today &  by 10:30 was in the car & off to see the shoulder surgeon.
So after much discussion of possibilities we're going with my preferred option of another round of injections to get me through the summer & if there's no improvement then keyhole impingement surgery later in the year when my Alpine season is finished. So key bits the surgeon said to me today (we get on very well), my responses in italics:
* "well you could always stop climbing..." - Um - not going to happen Doc!
* "so the rest of you is 45 (years old) - shame your shoulders appear to be 65"   !£%!??!!!$??!
* "you could always try rule 5!" - possibly the best response from a medic ever (cycling/ instructing in-joke - not for those easily offended, involves gritting teeth).

On the way home I stopped to pick up train tickets - Kendal station was rammed with people all waiting to get on a special pullman train to Edinburgh - aha thought I - I could Blip that - a quick look at the schedule & I knew I could make it out of town & get hills & train into shot.
Arriving at said spot it was rammed with train spotters - much maligned - but hey, everyone needs a hobby, however on the spectrum it identifies them as being. Finding a space I waited & eventually a utterly dull looking diesel (I could be totally wrong) 1960's type thing appeared pulling some admittedly ornate looking carriages - as the weirdo's  enthusiasts* rose in excitement I mooched off - "there's no way I'm blipping that" thought I - fortunately my deviation of route meant I would be passing Lowgill Viaduct - something I've thought of Blipping often as I pass by most days - but I've never wanted to stop on the motorway or thought about it in time to take the circuitous detour involved in passing by on the little roads, so here it finally is in all its glory.

* Absolutely no disrespect meant - they were a happy bunch & hey - it got them out of their houses. I did however note there were no ladies... 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.