A fierce mind.

Inspirational. I think a quick word search of my journal and blogs would prove that's a word I use a lot. And it's true I find inspiration in many of the people I meet, I'm inspired by the opportunites this life holds, and if my ramblings can inspire just one person to try something new then the circle can begin again.

But tonight we have a truly inspiring stranger in our house, someone I've never met, but who, ever since I read her story, I've known I wanted to help reach her goals. Her arrival has been delayed by injury, her journey beset by problems - but this evening we stood on the A6 near Shap and watched Yvie Johnson run into sight, pretty much halfway betwixt Lands End and John O'Groats, yet only a quarter of the way on her challenge to run there and back.
On April 23rd 2015 Yvie was diagnosed with Bipolar Disorder - something that rocked her foundations and caused her to question her very existence. Those of you who know my recent past will understand I can relate to the shock of a life changing event, and I'm in awe of Yvie's response to this. Her desire to overcome and not be defined by her diagnosis, to be a role model to others - truly inspirational.

You can find out more about Yvie's challenge at:
https://fiercemindevents.wordpress.com

& if you can give her a bed, a hot meal or just pop onto her route and cheer her along - well that would be a very good deed indeed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.