Cuckflower

This is a beautiful and delicate wildflower found on the edges of the lake at Trentham Gardens at this time of the year. It's also known as Lady's smock. I had taken several shots but found they were quite dull so I just tried the flash on this one and it seemed to brighten the soft petals. I've added a white nettle to my extra shot.

It was quite dull, wet (and raining), and windy as I walked around the lake late this afternoon. There weren't many other folks about but I quite enjoyed having the place to myself.

I was also treated to quite an aerobatic display, over the lake, from the house martins, sandmartins and swallows. And the final added extra was one of the little egret's wading in the river as I walked over the bridge back to my car.

So it was well worth the effort going out in the unpleasant weather!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.