Writing Group

I've been meeting with a friend of mine this year to do some writing, at Cafe Nero on occasional Saturdays. We're both very busy people finding it extremely hard to make space for creativity in our lives. At home there always seems to be too much distraction: the work we take home with us, the chores that have to be done, the whole world of the internet which is only ever a click away. I've always found public spaces conducive for writing. I quite enjoy the white noise in the background, and the comings and goings of people. It helps my process somehow.

As my availability has become more irregular in recent weeks, my friend has formalised our impromptu meetings into a writing group. Today we were joined by C and R, whom have both had careers in journalism. Not much actual writing was done today because we spent all our time getting to know each other. It was a real pleasure to enjoy such engaging company. I had to leave after a couple of hours but apparently the story telling went on for a good while longer! I think we've all been inspired today in different ways.

What is it with Saturdays? Once again, the weekend has delivered miserable weather. Somehow the firsts completed their match, mostly played in rain and drizzle, but they lost. Forrest did score a decent 30 opening the batting so at least his weekend won't be a complete washout. The forecast for tomorrow looks dire.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.