Learning day by day

By EmmaF

Rowney Warren

It was the first of three First Holy Communion masses this morning so church was rammed. Just before communion one of the catechists came and asked Carys to come down the front so she could watch her friends and contemporaries make their communion. It was a nice touch, support for those whose day it was but Carys also came back much calmer about what would happen on her day in a fortnight.

I had a little wobble about her dress as all the girls had long 'traditional' communion dresses or bridesmaid style dresses. Carys's is knee length. I could see her looking, but then she said to me 'I love my dress' so my mind is easier now. Phew.

After lunch there was a break in the rain so we headed over to Rowney Warren for a wander. The sun came out and it was very pretty. We got back in time to avoid the first of two thunder storms, the first was just noisy, the second torrential.

Kids played together until tea while I did the ironing and watched the Tour de Yorkshire. Reminded me how much I love that county. Although I was reluctant to cancel our planned camping trip I think today proved it was the correct decision. Now I just need to plan when we are actually going, the new tent needs breaking in.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.