Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Ted and Circuses

As it was sunny this afternoon and I didn't have any particular plans, I decided to go to Micheldever Forest and get in my bluebell shot of the year.  Last year I managed it in mono, so this time I indulged myself and shot in colour.

Goodness, though, did I pick the wrong time to go!!  There were so many cars parked higgledy piggeldy over the lane and up the banks that drivers trying to get passed were having to be very careful and the woods were packed with folks, walking through the bluebells like they were grass, pushchairs, dogs, long lenses and all.  One poor tiddler had lost her teddy and there was a great scramble to find it (thankfully achieved).  I didn't know whether to be pleased so many people wanted to enjoy themselves in such a happy way, or frustrated at the circus it had become!

Anyway, I got my shot and left to have a totally peaceful walk about half a mile down the road.  I saw a mass of arum lilies, great quantities of yellow rattle, wood violets and wood anemones, orange tipped butterflies and a buzzard.  The woods smelled damp and wonderfully green and on the path I walked there was not a bluebell in sight.

Hope your (long, those who have one) weekend is going well and enjoy the evening  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.