A Jem!

Searching round in the long grass in Itchingfield churchyard I saw this tiny little snail, I was drawn to it because it really is the most stunning orange colour, much more vibrant than any I have seen before.
I think it is a White-lipped banded snail Cepaea hortensis, a  common UK species,
After I had taken the photograph I carefully hid it back in the damp grass, which was just as well because the grave next to me was littered with broken snail shells.....obviously a thrush's abattoir!!!!
I also saw this poor rabbit sitting munching on the verge as I drove home, I am guessing from his swollen eyes he has myxmatosis, poor soul :-(( he was happy feeding though and hopped off at speed as I closed my window. He is a very sandy colour though, I really hope he isn't an escaped pet!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.