It's that time of year again!

Today has been glorious! not hot, but with the sun shining it was wonderful,
I went to my fave meadow up on the South downs which was lovely, it was yellow with cowslips, and buzzing.....
It is also a stronghold for the endangered Duke of Burgundy butterfly, not many, but a few breed there every year. I mooched around for a while, and then I saw one!!! literally sitting on the grass right by my feet!
I know I blipped the Duke of Burgundy Hamearis lucina last year (18th May2013), but that was the underside, so this year I bring you the topside! You can understand why it used to be considered a fritillary, because the top side is very similar to that of a frit, but it is actually the only British member of a completely different family Riodinidae the metalmarks.
I hope you will enjoy sharing this beautiful little (wingspan 29 -31mm) butterfly with me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.