Postcard from Abberley Park

This morning was so fogy the airport was closed for some time. As the day went on it became lovely and warm with lots of sun. I didn't feel like a long walk as I am not still 100% so took a walk to Abberley Park.

Two years ago I found a butterfly tree in Abberley Park but didn't see one last year. I did find one today with all the Monarch Butterflies fluttering about enjoying the sun. This year they were very high up so couldn't get a good shot of 100's hanging from the tree tops. it is quite a sight to behold. The Monarch butterflies gather in large clusters in favoured trees to hibernate over winter.

I could have just put up one shot but thought you wouldn't get the over all feel for how beautiful the park was today with its Autumn colours and all the butterflies.

When I got home I found that Wanaka had just had a big earthquake. First they said it was a 6.1 then put it up as a 5.7. I haven't heard of any major damage, but people were really shaken up... Hope you are all OK down there!

Also today I came across this Drone footage of the South Island that shows a lot of Wanaka and that Famous Tree. This is the footage if you would like a look, it doesn't last too long.

Here is the blip I did a month ago with photos and information on  Abberley Park.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.