The Running Line

All my stuff, a top-notch picnic, a spare tank with petrol, a big sack of cow manure and some other items were packed into our car in the morning before we headed south for our countryside home. It was beautiful there! The cherry trees were just about to bloom, tulips, cowslips and grape hyacinths were everywhere. Next time maybe the lilacs and the apple blossom will have started, says mum.

My main focus was the central lawn, where I can run and play Fetch! As there comes an occasional car, and an occasional dog even if it is very rarely, by on the tiny road, I had to wear my running line. Usually, I have my harness with it, but mum had forgotten it. I didn't mind it, I played and played and played! I was perfectly happy!

Then mum had to mow the lawns, and I had to be on the veranda. Take a nap! said mum. A nap? With a menacing machine like that on the loose in my garden and I can't even bark at it properly? The wheelbarrow was also suspicious. But I played a lot, I got to run and explore, the food was great - all in all, we had a wonderful day together!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.