The Love Child Chronicles

By lovechild

Bath Time?

This sink was once the place where I got my baths at our house on Seneca Lake in Lodi, New York, U.S.A.. A few years back, I took a trip to visit the lake house. The owner wasn't home, so we walked around and I shot some photos of the place. I featured a photo of our boat house some time ago.

I was shocked to see the old cast iron relic sitting in the woods up behind the "pump house", and equally stunned that the old oil tanks were still sitting there, rusting and probably leeching toxins into the earth.

Recently, my brother has spent time back up at Seneca Lake, and while I'm not sure if he's visited the "cottage", he did say that being back there was "like coming home."

It's interesting how the places and things that are a part of one's childhood can bring emotional pleasure or pain. A drive past my old high school still makes my stomach flip, yet a trip to the park where I once got Poison Ivy makes me feel like a child again.

As I prepare to spend a weekend with women I haven't seen since high school, at a lake house that I visited once when I was 14, I can't help but be excited. Good friends, good food, fun times, and GREAT weather.

We can't ask for more than that.

I'm sure I will have many new tales to tell. Life is good.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.