The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Hovering

I was searching for Reggie in the flower bed, but what I found was a bee-fly sipping nectar from lungwort flowers.  Superficially it does look rather like a bee, though the long and rigid proboscis is a good giveaway.

As the garden warmed, I found Reggie basking on warm, bare soil.  This was the first time we've seen him in over a week.  He's gone feral again, refusing to go near his house, and hunkering down under the cover of vegetation in the cooler weather.

I made it home yesterday evening after a long and uneventful drive home.  In the morning the Old Flyer and I met up with Ed, Anna, Sarah, Oliver and the latest addition to the family, 12 day old Chloe Victoria.  As we had our breakfast out in a pub north of Salisbury, she slept serenely despite the chatter all around.  A beautiful little girl.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.