Synagog in Trebice

Today we spent our last day with Dana and Standa. I helped Dana cook the mid day meal and afterwards she, Arvin and I drove to Trebice, a Unicef heritage site. We visited the Jewish quarter and the large basilica. We took tours of both places. The second tour was in Czech, so Dana had to translate for us.

It was a bit strange and quite sad to visit this place. Most of the residents were sent to concentration camps and very few ever returned. As we toured I felt like Arvin's heritage had become history, not the living culture it should have been.

The basilica was quite amazing, built in the 12th century. My favorite part was a chapel where there were original frescos. I itched to take photos but they requested that no photos be taken inside. I did notice one gal take a photo of the altar but I followed the rules and kept my camera in its bag.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.