Basilica at Jaromerice Nad Rokytnou

We had a very full day today. We started by visiting the retail outlet in Moravske Budejovice that Dana and Standa own. Their son Roska was there and he showed us around. It has furniture by a major manufacturer who retails some of Standa's furniture. There was also a display of really fine wooden toys made in the Czech Republic.

From there we did a bit of shopping and then headed back for a tour of the factory. Standa was making parts and I got a good photo of him. I'll post it if I am able.

We had lunch and then went to Jaromerice Nad Rokytnou to visit the basilica where the Whatcom Chorale performed seventeen years ago on our choir tour. It was such a nostalgic moment to be there. The view in this photo is what the audience saw as we sang. It was the most memorable concert of the choir tour and the best audience ever.

After the visit we went behind the chateau where the basilica is located to walk in the park. It was gorgeous. I took loads of photos. So far I haven't had much luck posting extra photos but if I can I will post a few.

From there we went to a community wine tasting event where I had the chance to meet some ladies who remembered our concert and Mr. Shabatsky who was the head of the school when we were there, and who organized the home stays. He remembered us and was delighted to meet us. I remembered him giving us directions when we arrived and telling us which hosts to go home with. Amazing.

We drove home. Arvin was really tired so he lay on the couch for a nap and Dana and I took Guro, the big black lab, for a long walk along the fields. The sun was out (The day had started with rain.) and it was just gorgeous.

We had alight dinner and the played a game very much like Parchezee. Meanwhile we all had some Becarovka, a wonderful herbal drink that Arvin and I learned to love on our last trip here.

Extra photos via my phone. That works.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.