Nose to nose

I was nt sure what to blip today but luckily the pine marten turned up and I managed to creep outside without it noticing. You can see how close it gets as David is almost nose to nose with her. I think this is the female , smaller than the male and a narrower face and she always sits this way round. She is also less timid than the male.
It's been a lovely day and I've spent most of it in the garden. The nettles have started to grow so I've tried to pull them up as much as I can.
A couple of new visitors today a pair of collared doves, a willow warbler ( the first sighting this year) ,  baby siskin and what I think was a young greenfinch fed by it's Dad and there more frequent visits from the wren that was singing heartily.
Just been watching a great programme about the early morning chorus on BBC4. Some wonderful photography and sound recordings. Some interesting facts too. Did you know that Urban birds have adjusted the pitch of their song to be heard over the urban noise. They also start singing earlier because of the street lights ? The dawn chorus peeks in the middle of May so a few more days to get out there and have a listen. Mikes glad the programme has finished as he was getting confused about what was real or on the telly , think the birds outside were wondering too :)
A lovely sunset now at 9 o'clock, I do like these light nights. Looking forward to seeing the moon, it looked beautiful last night reflected in the Firth.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.