BVFL33

By BVFL33

Lancaster ,County Town Of Lancashire .

Lancaster is a rather beautiful town on the River Lune. Today I went by train and enjoyed wonderful weather and encounters. My 1st stop was Lancaster Castle and then the Lancaster Priory Church , a beautiful building dating back to 1094. Since then much has happened and there have been changes .The organs ( yes plural ) and  the gentleman at the keyboard made my day by playing two works for me . Then down to the River Lune and the Millennium Bridge .This was not too far. I then followed the Lune to the 18th century aqueduct .A superb piece of engineering. designed by John Rennie . Completed in 1797 and constructed by Alexander Stevens .It over spent the budget hence the hoped for River Ribble Aqueduct could not be built.. I had the good fortune to meet a cheery and remarkably chatty group of teenagers. Here you see them waving goodbye to me from way up on the aqueduct 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.