Gabby

Pixelsmiths raved about his mountain biking course that he went on earlier this year. In an attempt to kick start my mountain biking passion, I signed up for today's course. Mrs PS was there too. Good to catch up with you again!

It was a beautiful day, sunshine beating down on us. The morning session was great, setting up the bikes, working on body position, etc. I was starving from the moment I got up this morning and no amount of food seemed to satisfy me. I spent most of the morning dreaming of lunch!

After lunch (a cheese sandwich so not really anything to rave about - though it was made with homemade bread!), we headed up a teeny hill and then came down it and went back up it and came down it and went back up it, well, you get the picture.

Around 2 pm, I started to feel dizzy and had to sit out the bigger hill. At 3 pm, I called it quits and left.

Have I learned anything? Yes, definitely. What I have picked up today will make my rides with Cousteau more enjoyable and easier.

Has my passion for mountain biking been (re)kindled? No, not really. I learned today that I'm actually competent enough on a bike to do the kind of biking I feel comfortable with. I don't want to do any mad, crazy biking, but I do enjoy being on the bike.

Will I buy a new mountain bike? Yes, probably. Mine's old and rattles around a bit. No rush though. I'll just keep pootling along.

I have learned today that whilst I like doing various 'out there' sports, I just want to be fit, healthy and happy. I don't want to do stuff that will injure me and set me back for the rest of the stuff I like to do. If that makes any sense.

Oh, this is Gabby, btw. She was our tutor today. She has an easy way of teaching. Quite structured, with regular recaps. She is enthusiastic and positive. I liked her. I hope she didn't think that my early departure was anything to do with her. Just too much sun, not enough water, not enough food and the realisation that I had learned enough about mountain biking for one day. :)

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Drive home view

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.