Eilatanfoto

By Eilatanfoto

One Word, Two Words, Old Words, New Words...

J280 was my first library card number, and I loved to look at the picture books in the local town library where my Mum worked. I could travel anywhere in the world with those books - and often did! Did this inspire a passion for literature, you ponder in a stunningly picturesque literary setting???

No, not really - more a fear of overdue notices sent from my Mum, and a love of people who could draw pictures!!

Literature vs Traffic, by Luzinturruptus is a unique installation currently on show (and growing) in Federation Square, Melbourne. Part of the 'Light in Winter' Festival, each day more books are placed on the Western Terrace of the Square till eventually it will be covered in literature, each book lit up by small reading lights placed underneath the pages. The lights of knowledge.

The books, donated for the specific purpose are varied and many, and I was astounded at the intense conversation the installation was inspiring. I was also extremely impressed to see the respect people had for this piece of art - not so much because of what it is, but because of what it is made up of.

I may also have also been smiling a little more at the thought of my Mum, guardian of the written word and patron saint of overdue library book notices, whom will think this is a little reckless but devine in its purpose - she loves the thought of books being shared - makes for a great Librarian (and a great Mum).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.